Tom Herman: Texas player named National Scholar — first Longhorn in 11 years since Sam Acho

12 Nov By

AUSTIN, Texas — Texas football head coach Tom Herman announced Thursday that one of his players has been named a 2020 National Football Foundation National Scholar. That same player is a finalist for the most prestigious and desirable academic awards in college football, The William V. Campbell Trophy.

The player is quarterback Sam Ehlinger. This is the first time a Longhorn has earned this honor since Sam Acho was named a NFF National Scholar 11 years ago and also won the William V. Campbell Trophy.

Here is Coach Herman making the announcement to the team

Past Texas Longhorns Winners

Horns Illustrated Subscription

NFF/College Football Hall of Fame Postgraduate Scholarship Winners – Texas
1959 – Maurice Doke, OG
1962 – Pat Culpepper, LB
1968 – Michael Perrin, LB
1970 – Bill Zapalac, LB
1973 – Pat Kelly, SE
1977 – Morgan Copeland, LB
1988 – Lee Brockman, LB
1996 – Pat Fitzgerald, TE
2007 – Dallas Griffin, C*
2009 – Colt McCoy, QB
2010 – Sam Acho, DE*
2020 – Sam Ehlinger, QB
*indicates winner of Campbell Trophy

Read full story on