Horns Illustrated Week in Review (July 1st-8th)

HI_Week in Review
The Horns Illustrated Week in Review covers all the University of Texas sporting events that took place this past week


53 days until the 2013-2014 Texas Football Season kicks off against New Mexico State!

Texas Longhorn quarterback David Ash has been named to the watch list for the 2013 Maxwell Award. The annual award is given to the best college football player. Tommy Nobis (1965), Ricky Williams (1998), Vince Young (2005), Colt McCoy (2009) have been awarded the Maxwell Award for college football player of the year.

Texas Longhorns defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat has been named to the watch list for the 2013 Chuck Bednarik Award. The award honors college football's best defensive player of the year.

Watch this awesome video of Texas Forever!


2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

Texas Baseball Head Coach Augie Garrido was inducted into the inaugural class of the Omaha College Baseball Hall of Fame on Wednesday night. Former UT All-American Brooks Kieschnick was also inducted on Wednesday.

Kieschnick is the only player to win the Dick Howser Trophy two times. The trophy is issued to the best player in collegiate baseball. Kieschnick helped lead Texas to back-to-back College World Series appearances in 1992 and 1993. Kieschnick is already a member of the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Texas Baseball Head Coach Augie Garrido is the all-time winningest coach in NCAA Division I baseball history. He is the first coach to lead teams from two different schools to National Championships (Cal State Fullerton & Texas) and guide squads to titles in four different decades.


On Sunday, Texas sophomore Erin Shireman and Team USA won silver at the International Softball Federation X Junior Women's World Championship. Team USA lost 4-0 to Japan in the gold-medal game. Shireman did not play in the gold-medal game, but finished the World Championships with a 1.000 batting average, five hits, two homeruns, and four RBIs.