Ash named to 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List

Junior QB David Ash has been named to the watch list for the award which is presented to the college player of the year.
Junior QB David Ash has been named to the watch list for the award which is presented to the college player of the year.

Texas Longhorns junior quarterback David Ash (who is poised for a breakout year) has been named to the watch list for the 2013 Maxwell Award, presented annually to the college player of the year, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

Four Texas players have won the Maxwell in the history of the award with QB Colt McCoy being the latest Longhorn to take home the trophy in 2009. He was the third Longhorn Maxwell Award winner in 12 seasons, joining QB Vince Young (2005) and RB Ricky Williams (1998). Linebacker Tommy Nobis was the first Longhorn to win the Maxwell in 1965. Ash was also named to the Maxwell Watch List in 2012.

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937, and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Ash is a third-year quarterback who has played in 25 games with 18 starts. He owns a 12-6 record as a starter with wins in 10 of his last 13 games and ranks eighth on the UT career passing yards list (3,778). His three 300-yard passing games rank fifth on the UT career list, and his 23 touchdown passes rank ninth on the Texas career list. Ash had a streak of 116 straight passes without an interception (fourth-longest in school history) snapped vs. Oklahoma State (9/29/12), and he set the school record for the most touchdown passes (four) by a true freshman in 2011. Ash was named the 2011 Holiday Bowl Offensive MVP after he accounted for two touchdowns with one passing and one receiving in Texas’ 21-10 win over Cal. He is a member of UT's Athletics Director's Honor Roll (Spring 2012).

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists will be unveiledNov. 25th. The winner of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12th. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Texas Longhorns Women's Basketball Single Game Tickets

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.