Brooks Kieschnick headed into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Red River Rivalry T-Shirts
Former Texas pitcher/designated hitter Brooks Kieschnick was a three-time All-America, had his jersey number retired in 2009 and now is headed into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame (photo courtesy of

WACO, Texas — Former Texas pitcher/designated hitter Brooks Kieschnick will be among the nine-member 2018 inductees into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

The three-time first-team All-America honoree helped lead the Longhorns to Southwest Conference titles in 1991 and 1992, and to the College World Series in 1992 and 1993. The two-time winner of the Dick Howser Trophy, which is given annually to the top player in college baseball, was the Associated Press SWC Pitcher of the Year in each of his three seasons. He also was the AP SWC Newcomer of the Year in 1991 and Baseball America's Player of the Year in 2003.

His No. 23 jersey was retired in 2009.

Kieschnick is the eighth UT baseball player or coach to join the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame, joining Roger Clemens, Billy Disch, Bibb Falk, Cliff Gustafson, Burt Hooton, Tex Hughson and Ernie Koy.

Kieschnick will be joined by former Arkansas All-America safety, Steve Atwater, All-SWC Baylor basketball player Tommy Bowman, former Houston basketball All-America Larry Micheaux, former Rice women's track & field coach Victor Lopez, SMU basketball standout Denny Holman, former Texas A&M football and track legend Curtis Dickey, former TCU basketball forward Kurt Thomas and former Texas Tech All-SWC quarterback Joe Barnes.

The induction ceremony will be Sept. 10 in Fort Worth. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *