Campbell and Conradt Honored by Texas Exes with Distinguished Alumnus, Service Awards

Earl Campbell

AUSTIN, Texas -- The Texas Exes are pleased to announce the 2014 University of Texas Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients. Each year six alumni who have distinguished themselves professionally and through service to the university are honored with the award. This year's awards presentation will be held at the LBJ Presidential Library on Friday, October 17.

In conjunction with the Distinguished Alumnus Awards, a special Distinguished Service Award will also be given this year to an individual who was not a student at the University of Texas at Austin but whose service has made a profound and positive difference to the university.

Earl Christian Campbell, BS '79, Life Member, is one of the most famous running backs to ever play in the National Football League. After becoming the first Longhorn to win a Heisman Trophy in 1977, Campbell was the No. 1 draft pick by the Houston Oilers and went on to be named Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player. Out of all running backs in the history of the NFL, Campbell ranks 10th for all-time rushing yards. In 1981, the legislature named Campbell an Official State Hero of Texas. After retiring from football in 1985, he became a prominent businessman in Austin and later founded Earl Campbell Meat Products, Inc. He also remained actively involved with UT Athletics and was a special assistant to the vice president for student affairs. In 1991, he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

H. Scott Caven, Jr., BBA '64, LLB '67, Life Member, is managing director of Atlantic Trust, a private wealth management firm. He was a member of the UT Board of Regents from 2003-09, including service as chairman from 2007-09. During a 32-year career with Goldman Sachs, Caven was a vice president and a regional manager. A longtime UT advocate, Caven has chaired the UT System Chancellor's Council and the McCombs School of Business Advisory Council. He is a founding member of the executive committee of the Texas Coalition for Excellence in Higher Education. He has also chaired the board of directors of the University of Texas Investment Management Company and the Texas Growth Fund board of trustees. Caven is currently a member of the board of trustees for the Texas State History Museum Foundation.

Dealey Decherd Herndon, BA '69, Life Member, was the executive director for the State Preservation Board of Texas from 1991-95, directing the restoration and extension of the Texas State Capitol. After the Texas Governor's Mansion was nearly destroyed in a 2008 fire, Herndon returned to lead the restoration of the mansion. She is a longtime project manager and historic preservationist who owned the firm of Herndon, Stauch & Associates from 1995-2006, overseeing projects including UT's ACES Building, the George W. Bush Childhood Home, the Caldwell County Historic Courthouse, and many more. Herndon is a member of the Texas Women's Hall of Fame and is a recipient of the Texas Medal of Arts Award. She served on two advisory committees and on the Brackenridge Task Force.

John H. Massey, LLB '66, Life Member, is the chairman of the Neuberger Berman Private Equity Funds Investment Committee and a member of the Co-Investment Partners Investment Committee. He has been a senior executive and director for many insurance companies, banks, industrial and service companies, and consumer product companies. He and his wife, Elizabeth Shatto Massey (2010 Distinguished Alumna), have created endowments at the McCombs School of Business, the School of Law, and the College of Education, as well as three Texas Exes Forty Acres Scholarships. Massey is also the president of the Law School Foundation and a trustee of the University of Texas Foundation. He is a recipient of UT's Presidential Citation and in 2012 was inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame.

Matthew David McConaughey, BS '93, Life Member, is an Academy Award-winning actor. He has starred in Dazed and Confused, Amistad, Contact, The Wolf of Wall Street, True Detective, and Dallas Buyers Club, for which he won the Oscar and a Golden Globe Award, both for Best Actor. McConaughey is the founder of the just keep livin Foundation, a nonprofit that empowers high school students to lead active lives and make healthy choices. He also partnered with Mack Brown and Jack Ingram to found Mack, Jack, and McConaughey, a joint fundraising effort that benefits kids.

Karen L. Nyberg, MS '96, PhD '98, is a NASA astronaut. She has logged more than 75 million miles and over 180 days in space, including the 123rd shuttle mission in 2008 and a five-month stint on the International Space Station in 2013. Nyberg received a patent in 1994 for a robot- friendly probe and socket assembly she designed while serving as an undergraduate intern at NASA, and her graduate research on the thermoregulation of spacesuits was published in four academic journals. She is the recipient of the Joyce Medalen Society of Women Engineers Award and the University of North Dakota Sioux Award.

Jody Conradt was the head coach of the University of Texas' women's basketball team from 1976-2007. In her 38-year coaching career, her players won 900 games, and 99 percent of them graduated. Among dozens of other accolades, she was named the National Collegiate Coach of the Year three times and was the second woman inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. She helped establish the university's Neighborhood Longhorns Program, an education outreach group that helps 5,500 disadvantaged Austin children build strong academic futures. Conradt, who also served as women's athletics director from 1992- 2001, is now a special assistant to women's athletics.

The Texas Exes, the alumni association for the University of Texas, was founded in 1885. The core purpose of the Texas Exes is to be an independent voice that champions the university, and to organize alumni and friends into a formidable network to change the world. Today there are around 100,000 members whom the association strives to connect to each other and to the past, present, and future of the university through travel, reunions, continuing education, fellowship, legislative advocacy in support of higher education, and the Alcalde magazine. For more information on Texas Exes or to become a member, please visit

James Schleicher

James Schleicher is the publisher of Horns Illustrated magazine. He's also a fifth generation Texan and lifelong Austinite. Follow @HornsIllus twitter to keep up with all things Horns Illustrated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *