Del Conte added to College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Red River Rivalry T-Shirts
Texas athletic director Chris Del Conte is one of five new members of the College Football Playoff Committee Selection Committee, which identifies the four teams that play for the college football national championship (photo courtesy of

AUSTIN, Texas — Just days after Steve Sarkisian was named football head coach at the University of Texas, his boss has taken on a larger role in the national college football landscape.

UT vice president and athletic director has been named to the College Football Playoff (CFP) Selection Committee. The announcement was made Tuesday by CFP Executive Director Bill Hancock.

Del Conte is one of five new members of the Selection Committee. Also named were Kentucky AD Mitch Barnhardt, North Carolina State AD Boo Corrigan, former Nebraska offensive lineman Will Shields and former Virginia Union coach and current AD Joe Taylor. The new members, who begin three-year terms in the spring, will replace Joe Castiglione, Ken Hatfield, Ronnie Lott, Todd Stansbury and Scott Stricklin, whose terms have expired.

“Mitch, Boo, Chris, Will and Joe will continue the integrity that has been the committee's hallmark through our seven seasons,” Hancock said. “Their knowledge, experience and character, along with their love of the sport of college football, will make the transition seamless.

“We are pleased that (Iowa AD) Gary (Barta) will return as chair. He was a valuable leader as the committee navigated a unique and challenging year. We look forward to him working with the other 12 members in what we hope will be a more traditional season in 2021.”

Del Conte has served as vice president and athletics director at Texas since December 2017. He has spearheaded a number of facility projects designed to expand amenities for student-athletes and enhance the coaches’ offices, and has overseen several improvements and additions to game-day fan experiences for football, baseball, basketball, soccer, softball, swimming and diving and track and field.

The CFP selection committee is responsible for selecting the top four teams in the playoff and assigning them to semifinal games, as well as ranking the other top 25 teams. The committee meets in person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week leading up to its final selections. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *