Horns Illustrated Week in Review (December 23rd-30th)

HI_Week in Review The Horns Illustrated Week in Review covers all the University of Texas sporting events that took place this past week


Did you miss anything ‎Texas Longhorns related from the past 7 days? Don't worry, we will bring you up to speed.



The Texas Longhorn Football team will play the No. 10 Oregon Ducks on Monday, December 30 in the Valero Alamo Bowl at 5:45 p.m. CT. The game will be broadcast on ESPN.

The Longhorns arrived in San Antonio on Wednesday and held their first bowl practice on Thursday. Texas will be without Daje Johnson, Jalen Overstreet, and Kennedy Estelle in the bowl game after all three were ruled ineligible to play.

Defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat and placekicker Anthony Fera each claimed consensus All-American honors on Monday. Jeffcoat is the fifth consensus All-American defensive end in school history. Fera is the first consensus All-American kicker in school history.

Men's Basketball

The Texas Longhorns Men's Basketball team will play Rice on Monday, December 30 at the Frank Erwin Center at 1 p.m. The game will be broadcast on the Longhorn Network.


Women's Basketball

The Texas Longhorn Women's basketball team defeated Idaho 87-58 on Saturday afternoon. The Longhorns were led by junior forward Nneka Enemkpali who scored 21 points and added 10 rebounds for a double-double.

The Longhorns overall record improves to 9-3 this season. The Longhorns return to action when they open Big 12 Conference play against No. 11 Oklahoma State on Thursday, Jan. 2 at 7 p.m. in Stillwater.



Junior outside hitter Haley Eckerman is one of four finalists for the Honda Sports Award for Volleyball. The other three finalists include Nebraska's Kelsey Robinson, Washington's Krista Vansant and Stanford's Carly Wopat.

The Honda Sports award winner for volleyball will be announced in the new year after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools.

The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup.