Jay Arnette Named to Southwest Conference Hall of Fame


Former two-sport star one of nine new members in 2013 class.

AUSTIN, Texas — Former University of Texas two-sport athlete Jay Arnette is one of nine individuals who have been selected into the 2013 class of inductees for the newly reinitiated Southwest Conference Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame announced earlier this week. Arnette will be joined in the class by Bob Brock (Texas A&M), Frank Broyles (Arkansas), Rick Bullock (Texas Tech), Trevor Cobb (Rice), Jerry Mallett (Baylor), Gene Phillips (SMU), Tom Tellez (Houston) and Frank Windegger (TCU).

(Also See: The Greatest Quarterbacks in Longhorn History)

On the basketball court, Arnette was a three-year letterwinner at Texas (1958-60) who earned first-team All-America honors by Converse Yearbook and Coach and Athlete and second-team All-America accolades by the Helms Foundation following his senior season in 1959-60. Arnette led the Longhorns to the Southwest Conference title and the NCAA Tournament “Sweet 16” in 1960. He earned a gold medal on the 1960 U.S. Olympic Basketball team in Rome and went on to play three seasons in the NBA for the Cincinnati Royals.

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

On the diamond, Arnette was a three-year letterwinner (1958-60) and earned first team All-Southwest Conference honors as a senior. That season, Arnette led Texas to a 21-3 overall record and a Southwest Conference championship. Arnette also helped the Longhorns capture the Southwest Conference title in 1958 and in his three-year career, helped Texas compile a 57-18 record.

An induction ceremony and luncheon to recognize the first class to be inducted since 1995 will be held on Monday, Oct. 28 at 11:30 a.m. at the Doubletree Hotel, Campbell Center in Dallas. The SWC Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. To reserve event tickets and to access sponsorship information, please visit the Hall of Fame’s web site: www.tshof.org/events. Media interviews with the inductees will be available before and after the luncheon.

The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame will now be one of four separate halls of fame housed within the confines of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s physical structure. They include the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and now, the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame.

James Schleicher

James Schleicher is the publisher of Horns Illustrated magazine. He's also a fifth generation Texan and lifelong Austinite. Follow @HornsIllus twitter to keep up with all things Horns Illustrated.