(source: TexasSports.com)

Mack Brown on Ballot for 2018 College Football Hall of Fame

(source: TexasSports.com)

IRVING, Texas – Legendary Texas head football coach Mack Brown will be on the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Thursday. Brown is one of six coaches for the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision to appear on the 2018 ballot. In total, the ballot will include 75 players and six coaches from the FBS and 98 players and 31 coaches from the NCAA divisional and NAIA ranks.

Brown compiled a career coaching record of 244-122-1 (.666) in 30 seasons as a head coach at Texas, North Carolina, Tulane and Appalachian State. The 244 wins are the 10th most in NCAA history by a coach with at least 10 years at an FBS school. When he left Texas, he was one of only two coaches nationally at the time to have directed teams to 21 bowls in the last 22 seasons and the only one to have 23 winning seasons in his last 24 years. His 225 wins overall from 1990 to 2013 were the most nationally.

In 16 seasons at Texas, he led the Longhorns to a mark of 158-48 (.767), second only to Darrell Royal's 167 wins in school history. He was named the 2008 Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year and the 2009 Big 12 Coach of the Year, in addition to the 2005 Paul "Bear" Bryant National Coach of the Year award winner after guiding the Longhorns to the 2005 BCS National Championship.

Brown lifted a UT program that managed at least 10 wins just three times in the 16 years prior to his arrival in 1998, but did so nine times in his 16 seasons with the Longhorns. That included a streak of nine straight 10-win seasons that is tied for the second-longest such streak in NCAA history. He also led the Longhorns to a school-best 12 straight nine-win seasons and six seasons of at least 11 wins.

Under Brown, Texas won nine of its last 12 bowl games during his tenure and had a 10-5 record overall, including a UT record streak of 12 consecutive bowl appearances. The 10 bowl wins give Brown the most in Texas history, surpassing Royal's eight. In addition, the streak includes a BCS National Championship, another BCS National Championship Game appearance and three BCS bowl wins.

The Horns finished the year ranked in the top 15 in 10 of his final 14 years, which included a string of 10 straight. They also had seven top 10 finishes and five top five rankings. During Brown's tenure, the Longhorns posted a school record 162 straight weeks (from 2000-2010) in the Associated Press Top 25. Prior to Brown's arrival in 1998, the last time Texas had finished the year in the top 10 was 1983. When Brown's Longhorns climbed to No. 1 in the polls in 2005 it was the first time Texas had been ranked in the nation's top spot in two decades (1984). In addition, from 1998-2013, Texas led the nation in all-time appearances in the BCS rankings with 103, ahead of both Oklahoma (100) and Florida (92).

Texas Longhorns Women's Basketball Single Game Tickets

During his 16 seasons in Austin, the Longhorns featured a Heisman Trophy winner, two runners-up and a third-place finisher, three Maxwell Award winners, three WCFF Player of the Year Award winners, two Doak Walker Award winners, two Thorpe Award winners, two Nagurski Trophy winners, two O'Brien Award winners, two Hendricks Award winners, a Butkus Award winner, a Lombardi Award winner, two Manning Award winners, two Draddy/Campbell Trophy winners, a Wuerffel Trophy winner, a Disney Spirit Award winner, a FWAA Armed Forces Merit Award winner, 54 All-Americans, 73 first-team All-Big 12 selections, five Big 12 Offensive Players of the Year, six Big 12 Defensive Players of the Year and 12 Big 12 Freshman of the Year honorees.

In the 30 NFL Drafts during Brown's time as a head coach, 108 of his student-athletes were selected, and he had a player selected in 28 straight drafts. He had 20 players (16 from UT/four from UNC) selected in the first round in a span of 17 drafts (1998-2014). Over his 16 years at UT, Brown had 71 players selected in the draft with 55 (77.5%) of those coming in the first four rounds.

With all of the success on the field, the primary emphasis remained the same with Brown's squads — maintaining a high level of achievement in the classroom and in the community. Eighty percent of his players at North Carolina received their degrees and he increased the pace at Texas, while more than a third of his players at Texas regularly earned 3.0 grade point averages and achieved spots on the Big 12 Commissioner's and Athletics Director's honor rolls.

Over his final seven years, the success in the classroom reached an all-time high. The Longhorns led the Big 12 in academic all-conference selections in five of his last eight seasons. From 2006-13, UT totaled a league-best 159 Academic All-Big 12 selections, while Kansas was second with 124.

Mack and Sally Brown's efforts in the community have been significant, as well, with the couple having earned numerous honors for their good works in addition to having served on several charitable boards. Most notable of their current endeavors is a lead role in the annual Mack, Jack & McConaughey event each spring in Austin. MJ&M is a joint fundraising effort in combination with Academy Award-winning actor Matthew McConaughey and ACM Award-winning recording artist Jack Ingram. Since the two-day event launched in 2013, the nonprofit has given over $5 million to charitable organizations like CureDuchene, Dell Children's Medical Center, HeartGift, just keep livin foundation and The Rise School of Austin.

Brown is no stranger to Hall of Fames, as he has been inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, the Holiday Bowl Hall of Fame and the Longhorn Hall of Honor.

TEAM SHOP Fanatics Black Fleece Hoodie On Sale

To be eligible for the ballot, coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three full seasons.

The ballot will be sent to more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Courts, which deliberate and select the class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin, include an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

As part of a continuing tradition, the NFF has partnered with the College Football Playoff to announce the new College Football Hall of Fame class during festivities prior to the National Championship in the host city. The announcement of the 2018 class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018 in Atlanta, and they will be inducted at the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will be permanently enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *