Mohamed Bamba named to USBWA All-District VII Team

(photo courtesy of

ST. LOUIS, Mo. — University of Texas freshman forward Mohamed Bamba earned a spot on the 12-person United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VII Team, the organization announced Tuesday. District VII includes all Div. I men’s basketball programs in the states of Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana.

Bamba also was named Sunday to the All-Big 12 Second Team, the Big 12 All-Defensive Team and the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team.

Bamba leads the team in rebounding (10.6 per game) and blocks (107, 3.82 per game) and ranks second in scoring (13.0 points per game) and fourth in minutes (30.8 per game) through his first 28 games. He has recorded a Big 12 Conference-leading 14 double-doubles, including nine in league play. Bamba has reached double figures in scoring 21 times and reached double figures in rebounds 18 times.

Bamba leads the Big 12 Conference and ranks second nationally (through games of March 3) in blocks per game (3.82 per game). Heal ready has set the UT overall season record for blocks (previous was 92 by Chris Owens in 2000-01) and the school and Big 12 Conference freshman season mark (previous was 90 by Mihm in 1997-98). Bamba also leads the league and ranks 12th nationally (through games of March 3) in rebounds per game (10.6 per game).

The USBWA has selected All-District Teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year. Voting is done by the national membership of the USBWA. For each of the nine geographic districts, 10 players are selected (11 or 12 in the case of ties) as well as a player and coach of the year.

Texas (18-13, 8-10 Big 12) opens play in the first round of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship against No. 10 seed Iowa State (13-17, 4-14 Big 12) Wednesday, March 7 in Kansas City. Tip is set for approximately 8:30 p.m. Central at Sprint Center, and the game will be televised nationally by ESPNU.


2017-18 USBWA All-District VII Honors

(District VII includes all Division I schools in the states of Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana)

Player of the Year: Keenan Evans, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year: Chris Beard, Texas Tech

USBWA All-District VII Team

Mohamed Bamba, Texas

Jaylen Barford, Arkansas

Frank Bartley, Louisiana

Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

Keenan Evans, Texas Tech

Rob Gray, Houston

Daryl Macon, Arkansas

Shake Milton, SMU

Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech

Tremont Waters, LSU

Kenrich Williams, TCU

Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Andy Gonzalez

Digital Editor for and article junkie for Horns Illustrated. Father of 4. Heisman Trophy winner winner.   Follow me on Twitter at @GoGoGonzilla .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *