No. 1 Texas Men’s Swimming and Diving qualifies 17 swimmers, three divers for NCAA Championships

via Texas Athletics
via Texas Athletics

AUSTIN, Texas – Texas Men's Swimming and Diving has qualified 17 swimmers and three divers to compete at the 2015 NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships set for March 26-28 at The University of Iowa.  Additionally, the Longhorns have qualified all five relays for the national meet.

The following Texas swimmers and divers have received invitations to the NCAA Championships:

Jack Conger
Tripp Cooper
Kip Darmody
Matt Ellis
Imri Ganiel
Will Glass
Aaron Gustafson
Sam Lewis
Will Licon
John Martens
John Murray
Brett Ringgold
Jonathan Roberts
Joseph Schooling
Clark Smith
Austin Temple
Clay Youngquist

Mark Anderson
Cory Bowersox
Will Chandler

All-America sophomore Jack Conger holds the meet's top seeds in the 100-yard butterfly (44.78) and the 200 butterfly (1:39.31) in addition to the ninth seed in the 100 backstroke (45.68).  Conger set the American record in the 200 butterfly on Feb. 25 during a time trial at the Big 12 Championships.  He scored individually in the 500 freestyle, 100 butterfly and 200 backstroke at the 2014 NCAA Championships in Austin.

All-America senior Tripp Cooper scored individually in the 100 butterfly at the 2014 NCAA Championships and holds the meet's fifth seed in the same event at 45.79.

All-America senior Kip Darmody was UT's top individual swimming scorer at the 2014 NCAA Championships.  A 2012 NCAA champion in the 800 freestyle relay, Darmody is seeded 17th in the 100 backstroke (46.14) and 25th in the 100 butterfly (46.26).

All-America junior Matt Ellis, one of the world's top-10 100-meter butterfly swimmers last year, will compete in his second NCAA Championship with the Longhorns. Ellis holds the 23rd seed in the 100 butterfly.  Redshirt sophomore Imri Ganiel holds the 26th seed in the 100 breaststroke at 52.88.

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

All-America sophomore Will Glass enjoyed a breakout meet at the NCAA Championships as a freshman.  The Mobile, Alabama, native is seeded 12th in the 100 butterfly (45.96).  All-America junior Aaron Gustafson scored in the 100 backstroke for the Horns at the 2014 NCAA Championships and is seeded 21st nationally at 46.26.

All-America junior Sam Lewis holds the meet's 28th seed in the 500 freestyle (4:17.01) and the 19th seed in the 1,650 freestyle (14:55.39).  All-America sophomore Will Licon holds school records in the 200 and 400 individual medleys in addition to the 200 breaststroke.  The El Paso native is seeded second in the 200 IM (1:41.67), 13th in the 400 IM (3:41.88) and second in the 200 breaststroke (1:51.77).

Junior John Martens earned his first NCAA Championships invitation by way of his 18th seeds in the 200 butterfly (1:43.05) and the 400 IM (3:42.82).  Nine-time All-America junior John Murray landed top-six individual finishes in the sprint freestyle events at the 2014 NCAA Championships, where he was a force on the Longhorns' relays.  The San Antonio native is seeded 15th in the 50 freestyle (19.37) and 11th in the 100 freestyle (42.61).

Freshman Brett Ringgold is seeded 10th in the 100 freestyle (42.60) and also holds the 32nd seed in the 50 freestyle (19.54).  Classmate Jonathan Robertsis seeded 15th in the 500 freestyle (4:15.40) and 16th in the 1,650 freestyle (14:53.33).


Freshman Joseph Schooling set UT's 200 butterfly record at the Texas Invitational in December before Conger claimed it in January and lowered it in February.  The Singapore native is seeded second behind Conger in the 100 butterfly (44.81) and the 200 butterfly (1:40.59).  He also holds the seventh seed in the 200 IM (1:42.99).

Sophomore Clark Smith earned his first NCAA Championships invitation by way of his fourth seed in the 200 butterfly (1:41.42) and fifth seed in the 500 freestyle (4:13.32).  Freshman Austin Temple collects his first NCAA invite after clocking 52.71 for the 20th seed in the 100 breaststroke.  Eleven-time All-America senior Clay Youngquist is seeded 15th in the 200 freestyle (1:34.02).

All-America divers Mark Anderson, Cory Bowersox and Will Chandler earned NCAA Championships bids on Monday and Tuesday in the one-meter and three-meter events.  All three divers have opportunities to earn platform diving berths this afternoon at the NCAA Zone "D" Diving Meet in Iowa City.

James Schleicher

James Schleicher is the publisher of Horns Illustrated magazine. He's also a fifth generation Texan and lifelong Austinite. Follow @HornsIllus twitter to keep up with all things Horns Illustrated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *