LAURA SOGARSENIOR Laura Sogar fought off an American record holder, a national champion and a host of formidable challengers to win the NCAA title in the 200-yard breaststroke March 30. Sogar won the 200 breaststroke in 2 minutes, 5.41 seconds and held off runner-up Haley Spencer of Minnesota, a former NCAA champion in the event, in addition to Texas A&M's Breeja Larson, the American record holder.

Sogar is Texas' first NCAA individual swimming champion since 2001, when Colleen Lanne won the 50- and 100-yard freestyle...

The rest of this article is available to Digital Subscribers only. Login or Subscribe to continue reading.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *