Texas 1983 National Championship Baseball Team Honored

The Texas Longhorn 1983 National Championship baseball team was honored at the Texas versus West Virginia game on Saturday April 20, 2013. A Texas crowd of 6,747 fans greeted and cheered the Longhorn alumni.

April 20 marked the 30th anniversary of the 1983 team's National Championship. Former head coach Cliff Gustafson was honored along with 17 other members of the National Championship squad.

When the players and coaches of the 1983 team were introduced the crowd gave them a standing ovation, but former Texas pitcher Roger Clemens was the player that captured the most media attention.

The team beat the Alabama Crimson Tide in the College World Series Championship Game and finished with a 66-14 (18-3 SWC) record that season. They also were Southwest Conference Champions and Southwest Conference Tournament Champions.

Other notable coaches and players that were honored before the game were: Cliff Gustafson, Bill Bethea, Clint Thomas, Howard Herrera, Johnny Sutton, Doug Hodo, Roger Clemens, Darren Loy, Wade Phillips, Brian Burrows, Pat Daniels, Jeff Hearron, John Turman, Thomas Allen, Robert Gauntt, Mike Trent, Bill Bates, Bruce Ruffin, Jamie Doughty, Alan Brown and David Denny.