Texas-Ex Laura Sogar wins 200m breaststroke at Arena Pro Swim Series event

(image via TexasSports.com)
(image via TexasSports.com)

AUSTIN, Texas – Texas-Ex Laura Sogar led from start-to-finish and won the 200-meter breaststroke championship final Friday on the opening night of finals at the USA Swimming Arena Pro Swim Series at Austin event.

Sogar, the 2013 NCAA champion in the 200-yard breaststroke for the Longhorns, won the 200m breaststroke handily Friday evening in 2 minutes, 24.69 seconds.  Sogar is the reigning U.S. national champion in the same event, having won the 200m breaststroke at last summer's Phillips 66 USA Swimming National Championships in San Antonio.

Texas freshman Olivia Anderson joined Sogar in the evening finals and placed sixth in the 200m breaststroke consolation final in 2:30.44.

Texas-Ex Michael McBroom nearly ran down Frenchman Jordan Pothain in the 400m freestyle championship final but settled for a close second at 3:50.17.

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

Texas-Ex Jimmy Feigen took third in the 100m freestyle championship final at 49.20, and UT junior Will Licon added a fifth-place showing in the 200m breaststroke championship final at 2:12.14.

Texas freshman Quinn Carrozza added a sixth-place finish in the 400m freestyle consolation final at 4:15.03.

The USA Swimming Arena Pro Swim Series at Austin event continues Saturday at UT's Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

James Schleicher

James Schleicher is the publisher of Horns Illustrated magazine. He's also a fifth generation Texan and lifelong Austinite. Follow @HornsIllus twitter to keep up with all things Horns Illustrated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *