Texas track and field hosts 92nd Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays at Mike A. Myers Stadium

Decathlete Wolf Mahler and the Texas men's and women's track and field teams will host the 92nd Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays at Mike A. Myers Stadium Wednesday through Saturday (photo courtesy of texassports.com).

By Steve Lansdale

AUSTIN, Texas — One of the most visible and popular college track and field events in the country takes place Wednesday through Saturday in Austin when the University of Texas hosts the 92nd Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

The event will be broadcast on the Longhorn Network.

"We are thrilled to welcome over 7,000 athletes to campus and our world-class facility for the annual Texas Relays," Texas head coach Edrick Floréal said. "This meet is one of the most prestigious in the country and is a big deal to all of the competitors from around the state, country and world. Our athletes always look forward to competing in front of a sold-out crowd at this event and will be ready to take advantage of their opportunities this weekend.

“Speaking from experience as a student-athlete and coach myself at the Relays, there truly is no event in track and field like it. We can't wait to welcome back all of our alumni and letterwinners for a great weekend of competition on the track and celebrating UT off of it."

Among the events featuring Texas standouts:

  • Decathlon (Wednesday, Thursday): Three-time All-America/2015 Big 12 champion Wolf Mahler
  • Heptathlon (Wednesday, Thursday): Virginia Preiss, school record holder Ashtin Zamzow
  • Women’s hammer throw (11 a.m. Thursday): Elena Bruckner
  • Men’s pole vault (2:30 p.m.): second-team USTFCCCA All-America Barrett Poth, Nicholas Meaders
  • Women’s 400-meter hurdles-prelims (4:30 p.m. Thursday): Anne Sofie Kirkegaard, Sanique Walker
  • Men’s 400-meter hurdles-prelims (5 p.m. Thursday): Isaiah Lucas, Kirema Macharia
  • Women’s javelin Section B (5:15 Thursday): Camille Johnson
  • Women’s Invite 800 (7:05 p.m. Thursday): Gabby Crank
  • Women’s 1,500 meters Section B (7:10 p.m. Thursday): Claudine Blancaflor, Jordan Welborn
  • Men’s 1,500 meters Section A (7:30 p.m. Thursday): Brendan Hebert, Charles Mills (finished fifth in mile at 2018 Texas Relays), Sean Prendeville
  • Women’s 3K steeplechase (7:40 p.m. Thursday): Abby Guidry (finished third in 2018 Texas Relays), school record holder Meghan Lloyd, Anna McDonald
  • Men’s 3K steeplechase (8 p.m. Thursday): Jake Johnson, Second-Team USTFCCCA All-America John Rice, Alex Rogers
  • Women’s 5,000 meters (9 p.m. Thursday): Marissa Flournoy (No. 6 in UT history), Madeline Vondra, Beth Ramos
  • Men’s 5,000 meters (9:30 p.m. Thursday): Garek Bielaczyc, Daniel Golden, Pedro Nasta
  • Men’s discus Section B (9 a.m. Friday): Tripp Piperi
  • Men’s long jump Section B (10 a.m. Friday): Ika Morton
  • Women’s long jump Section B (10 a.m. Friday): Georgia Wahl, Sophia Falco
  • Women’s pole vault Section B (10 a.m. Friday): USTFCCCA second-team All-America Shay Petty
  • Women’s triple jump Section B (12:30 p.m. Friday): Wahl
  • Wahl Women’s triple jump Section A (12:30 p.m. Friday): Sophia Falco
  • Women’s sprint medley relay (5 p.m. Friday)
  • Men’s sprint medley relay (5 p.m. Friday)
  • Invite women’s 400-meter hurdles (5:30 p.m. Friday): USTFCCCA second-team All-America Mariam Abdul-Rashid
  • Women’s 400-meter hurdles finals (5:35 p.m. Friday): Kirkegaard, Walker
  • Men’s 400-meter hurdles finals (5:40 p.m. Friday): Lucas, Macharia
  • Women’s distance medley relay (5:50 p.m. Friday)
  • Men’s javelin Section A (6 p.m. Friday): Trevor Danielson
  • Men’s distance medley relay (6:05 p.m.)
  • Women’s 4x800-meter relay (10:40 a.m. Saturday)
  • Opening Ceremonies (1:05 p.m. Saturday)
  • Women’s Carlette Guidry 4x100-meter relay (1:30 p.m. Saturday)
  • Women’s discus Section A: Bruckner
  • Women’s 100-meter hurdles finals (2:10 p.m. Saturday): Abdul-Rashid, Rushelle Burton
  • Men’s 110-meter hurdles finals (2:10 p.m. Saturday): John Burt, Medric Roberson
  • Women’s 100-meter finals (2:55 p.m. Saturday): Julien Aldred, Kynnedy Flannel
    Men’s 100-meter finals (2:55 p.m. Saturday): Washington Brown
  • Women’s 1,500 meters (3:35 Saturday): Destiny Collins, Alex Cruz
  • Men’s Jerry Thompson Mile (3:35 Saturday): Rogers, Sam Worley
  • Invite Women’s 200 meters (3:55 p.m. Saturday): Teahna Daniels, Serenity Douglas, Zola Golden, Kennedy Simon
  • Men’s shot put Section A (4 p.m. Saturday): Piperi (USTFCCCA first-team All-America, USATF Junior Outdoor World Championship gold medalist)
  • Women’s shot put Section A (4 p.m. Saturday): Bruckner
  • Women’s Sanya Richards-Ross 4x400-meter relay (4:05 p.m. Saturday)
  • Men’s Cleburne Price, Jr., 4x400-meter relay (4:05 p.m. Saturday)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *