(image via TexasSports.com)

Tristan Thompson helps bring a NBA championship to Cleveland

(image via TexasSports.com)
Former Texas men's basketball player Tristan Thompson averaged a double-double during the NBA Finals to help the Cleveland Cavaliers win the first championship in franchise history (image via texassports.com).

AUSTIN, Texas – Former University of Texas forward Tristan Thompson became the fourth UT player to win an NBA championship, as the Cleveland Cavaliers posted a 93-89 win against the Golden State Warriors in Game 7 of the 2016 NBA Finals Sunday evening. Thompson joined Slater Martin, Dexter Pittman and Cory Joseph as the only Longhorns to be a part of an NBA championship team.

Martin won five titles during his Hall of Fame career, including four championships with the Minneapolis Lakers (1950, 1952, 1953 and 1954) and one with the St. Louis Hawks (1958). Pittman was inactive but with the Miami Heat's 2012 NBA championship team, while Joseph played with the San Antonio Spurs' 2015 NBA championship team.

In the NBA Finals, Thompson averaged a double-double with 10.3 points and 10.1 rebounds in 32.4 minutes per contest. He also converted 63.6 percent (28-44) from the floor and added six blocks in the seven-game series. Thompson posted 15 points and 16 rebounds in Game 6 and 14 points and 13 rebounds in Game 3.

Former Texas Players on NBA Championship Team Rosters

Year Player Team
1950 Slater Martin Minneapolis Lakers
1952 Slater Martin Minneapolis Lakers
1953 Slater Martin Minneapolis Lakers
1954 Slater Martin Minneapolis Lakers
1958 Slater Martin St. Louis Hawks
2012 Dexter Pittman Miami Heat
2014 Cory Joseph San Antonio Spurs
2016 Tristan Thompson Cleveland Cavaliers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *