Vince Young elected to Rose Bowl Hall of Fame

Former Texas quarterback Vince Young led the Longhorns to the 2005 and 2006 Rose Bowls; the second resulted in an upset of top-ranked USC and a national championship for Texas (photo courtesy of


By Steve Lansdale

PASADENA, Calif. — Former Texas quarterback Vince Young, who led the Longhorns to the Rose Bowl in 2005 and 2006, guiding his team to the national championship in 2006 with an upset victory over USC, will be inducted Dec. 31 into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame.

Young will be joined as 2018 inductees by George Halas, Randall McDaniel and Pop Warner. Young will join is former coach in the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame; Mack Brown was inducted last year.

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

Although already a star, Young’s national profile soared when he authored arguably the best performance in a bowl game in Longhorn history when he led UT to a 41-38 victory over the No. 1-ranked Trojans to win the national championship via a perfect 13-0 record.Young became just the fourth player to be named Rose Bowl Offensive Mpost Valuable Player twice. In the 2005 Rose Bowl, he ran for 192 yards, passed for 180 and factored in five touchdowns (one passing, four on the ground) to help UT rally past Michigan. A year later, he threw for 267 yards, ran for 200 yards and scored three touchdowns against USC.[place_ad_1]

The two Rose Bowls that Young helped the Longhorns reach matched the two Big 12 titles he helped UT win. Young steered the ship on one of the most potent offenses in college football history, when he helped Texas score an NCAA-recod 652 points. The Longhorns also became one of just four teams in NCAA history to average at least 50 points and 500 yards per game. He also became the first player in NCAA history to pass for at least 3,000 yards and rush for at least 1,000 in a single season.

Young capped off the season by winning the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award and Manning Award, being named Cingular/ABC Player of the Year, a runner-up for the Heisman Trophy and consensus first-team All-America.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *