Vote now for Zamzow, Sigsgaard as Big 12 Athlete of the Year

Red River Rivalry T-Shirts
Christian Sigsgaard and Ashtin Zamzow are up for the 2018-19 Big 12 Conference Athlete of the Year in their respective categories (Photo courtesy of Texas Sports).

Now’s your time to help two Texas athletes to the top. Get your votes in for two Longhorns up for 2018-19 Big 12 Conference Athlete of the Year before 5 p.m. CST today when voting ends, as tennis junior Christian Sigsgaard is UT's nominee for the Big 12 Male Athlete of the Year, and track & field senior Ashtin Zamzow is UT's nominee for the Big 12 Female Athlete of the Year.

Zamzow is fresh off of a 2019 Track & Field Outdoor National Championship as the first Longhorn heptathlete to earn the honor. Meanwhile, Sigsgaard helped launch the Texas men’s tennis team to a 2019 National Championship this spring.

Fan voting goes through this afternoon by visiting this link and casting a vote each for Sigsgaard and Zamzow.

Winners are set to be announced by the Big 12 Conference through their social media channels (Facebook and Twitter) on Thursday, July 11.

Here’s a bit more about the Texas’ nominees:

Sigsgaard, who played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for the 2019 NCAA Champion Longhorns (29-3 record), earned ITA All-America honors in both singles and doubles. The Big 12 Co-Player of the Year and the league's No. 1 singles co-champion, he finished the year ranked No. 6 in both singles and doubles in the final ITA national rankings. Sigsgaard posted a 38-14 overall singles record (17-9 in dual-match play) and a 23-10 overall doubles mark (15-7 in dual-match play) with partner Harrison Scott during the 2018-19 season.

Zamzow became just the second heptathlete ever to win the NCAA individual title on her home track. Her school-record point total of 6,222 at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships made her the eighth-best collegiate heptathlete of all-time. A semifinalist for The Bowerman (awarded to the nation's most outstanding collegiate track & field athlete) and the 2019 USTFCCCA South Region Field Event Athlete of the Year, Zamzow helped the Longhorns win the Big 12 Outdoor Championship by earning individual titles in the heptathlon and the javelin. During the 2019 indoor season, Zamzow placed third at the NCAA Indoor Championship in the pentathlon with 4,294 points. She also helped Texas win the Big 12 Indoor Championship by earning the individual title in the pentathlon.

The rest of the 2018-19 Big 12 Athlete of the Year Candidates:

Baylor: Lauren Cox (Women’s Basketball) and Davis Wendzel (Baseball)
Iowa State: Bridget Carleton (Women’s Basketball) and Edwin Kurgat (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Kansas: Nina Khmelnitckaia (Women’s Tennis) and Bryce Hoppel (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
K-State: Peyton Williams (Women’s Basketball) and Tejaswin Shankar (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Oklahoma: Brenna Dowell (Gymnastics) and Kyler Murray (Football)
Oklahoma State: Sinclaire Johnson (Track & Field/Cross Country) and Viktor Hovland (Men’s Golf)
TCU: Destiny Longmire (Women’s Track & Field) and Chengetayi Mapaya (Men’s Track & Field)
Texas: Ashtin Zamzow (Women’s Track & Field) and Christian Sigsgaard (Men’s Tennis)
Texas Tech: Karli Hamilton (Softball) and Divine Oduduru (Men’s Track & Field)
West Virginia: Bianca St. Georges (Soccer) and Will Grier (Football)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *