Longhorns Quartet Named To All-Big 12 Team

The Big 12 Conference announced Tuesday the selections of Texas' Aeriel Ellis, Krista Damico, Lina Padegimaite and Noel Scott to the 2012 All-Big 12 Women's Tennis Team in voting conducted by the league's head coaches. Padegimaite was selected as the league's Freshman of the Year while earning All-Big 12 doubles honors alongside Scott. Ellis and Damico earned All-Big 12 singles honors.

Padegimaite (pah-day-gee-MY-tay), who becomes UT's fourth Big 12 Freshman of the Year and its first since Aeriel Ellis in 2010, won the Big 12 title at No. 5 singles by way of her 5-0 record at No. 5 singles and her 4-0 mark at No. 4 singles. The Lithuanian now sports an impressive 19-4 dual-match record. Padegimaite is the first UT freshman to go undefeated through a full schedule of league play since Sarah Lancaster in 2007. Padegimaite added wins against Texas Tech and Texas A&M at the Big 12 Championship. She won 23 of 25 sets played against conference foes this season. Padegimaite and Scott hold an 11-9 overall doubles record, including a 5-3 mark in conference play.

Damico earns All-Big 12 honors after posting a 22-10 overall singles record and a 15-5 mark in dual-match play. Damico, who split time with Ellis at the Nos. 1 and 2 singles positions, finished with a 5-4 mark in conference play. Damico also earned All-Big 12 singles honors in 2010.

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

Ellis, now a three-time All-Big 12 singles selection, played a key role in the Horns' run to the Big 12 tournament title last month in College Station. The Californian posted a pair of straight-set wins over Oklahoma State and Texas Tech to help Texas reach the finals at the Big 12 Championship.

Texas opens NCAA Tournament play on Friday, May 11 when it hosts Wichita State. First serve is set for 1 p.m. Central at UT's Penick-Allison Tennis Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *