Bertine Strauss Named Big 12 Player of the Year

(image via
(image via

AUSTIN, Texas – Senior Bertine Strauss was named Big 12 Player of the Year, the Big 12 Conference announced on Thursday.

Strauss finished the regular season ranked No. 30 nationally by Golfstat and currently holds a 72.89 adjusted scoring average on the year with 17 wins over opponents ranked in the top-50.

She has anchored Texas as the No. 1 player in eight of 10 events this season, including winning the first tournament of her career at the Ping/ASU Invitational in April.

She leads the Longhorns with a 72.70 scoring average and has a team-best 12 sub-par rounds.

She has finished five top-10 finishes and has been Texas' low player in seven events.

Strauss is the first Texas golfer to win the award since Madison Pressel in 2011 and the 11th since 1983.

2015 All-Big 12 Women's Golf Team

1. Hayley Davis, Baylor

2. BERTINE STRAUSS, TEXAS (Player of the Year)

3. Maddie McCray, Oklahoma State (Freshman of the Year)

4. Kenzie Neisen, Oklahoma State

5. Linnea Johansson, Oklahoma State

6. Chonlada Chayanun, Iowa State

7. Dylan Kim, Baylor

8. Hannah Wood, Oklahoma

9. Celia Barquin, Iowa State

10. Emma Broze, Oklahoma State

2023 Texas Longhorns Football Season Tickets

Coach of the Year: Jay Goble, Baylor

Texas Conference Player of the Year History

Madison Pressel (2010-11)

Janice Olivencia (2001-02)

Heather Bowie (1996-97)

Kelli Kuehne (1995-96)

Nicole Cooper (1994-95)

Nicole Cooper (1993-94)

Nadine Ash (1992-93)

Michiko Hattori (1990-91)

Michiko Hattori (1989-90)

Michiko Hattori (1988-89)

Michiko Hattori (1987-88)

Kate Golden (1986-87)

Sue Ginter (1985-86)

Nancy Ledbetter (1983-84)


Congrats, Bertine!

Bertine Strauss


James Schleicher

James Schleicher is the publisher of Horns Illustrated magazine. He's also a fifth generation Texan and lifelong Austinite. Follow @HornsIllus twitter to keep up with all things Horns Illustrated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *